RSS

What a Great First Day!

04 Sep

I really enjoyed seeing the 5/6 students again. I’m still learning some names but they all know to correct me if I get them wrong.

Today I showed the class this video to introduce myself to them. We will be making similar class videos highlighting everyone’s interests.

We also watched this video created by Royan Lee, a teacher whom I admire very much. I had the good fortune to meet him in August and will be seeing him again at ECOO – a conference I will be attending in October.

Today the class did a formative spelling test. It’s purpose is to show me what they know and what they need to work on. The words are carefully selected to hit on specific phonics rules and spelling patterns. Once they are all marked I will conference with each students and we will begin the work. I will send the conference notes and goals home.

We also looked at number bonding in math. All numbers can be bonded together to make new ones or deconstructed into smaller numbers. We played some games with dice making bonds to 10. Being able to use friendly numbers like 10, 100, 1000 etc. is very helpful for mental math and computation, as well as conceptual understanding.

Here is an online game for bonding to 100 practice.

http://www.mathplayground.com/PartPartWhole.html

I hope the students enjoyed their day as much as I did. See everyone tomorrow when we will begin our regular routines!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2012 in Math, Mental Math, Word Work

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “What a Great First Day!

  1. Graham's Mom

    September 18, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    We enjoyed watching the videos that Graham missed, being sick the first day. I really like your Shuffle Demons “Spadina Bus” on the Toronto Trip video! Haven’t heard that in ages!

     
    • erinlittle325001128

      September 19, 2012 at 11:59 am

      Did you watch a bunch of my YouTube videos? I forget that YouTube will show them all. I only posted the one about me and the one by Royan Lee! I made that one as a promotion for the trip last year! I love the Shuffle Demons! The Spadina Bus is not more though 😦

       
  2. Graham's Mom

    September 18, 2012 at 11:30 pm

    Confused about where to put my name or “Graham’s mom” when it asks for your name in the details. Sorry.

     
    • erinlittle325001128

      September 19, 2012 at 11:57 am

      I changed your first one to Graham’s Mom also. I should clarify that in a note home or on the Etiquette Page. It’s just so no one can find our class based on their names. It’s not likely to happen but better to be safe.

       

Leave a Reply

 
