RSS

Diagnostic Assesments & We got a comment on our blog! From Australia!

06 Sep

Today we bagan a diagnostic assessment in math. It is like a test but the purpose is for me to determine strengths and areas for improvement. We will finish this up tomorrow and begin to work on numeration skills on Monday to address any areas that need it.

In English we continued to work on independent reading. The grade 5s wrote me two paragraphs about themselves so that I can learn about them and assess their writing, again looking for strengths and areas for improvement.

All these dianostic assessments help me to plan a programme that specifically meets the needs of each and every student in my class. I will begin reading assessments next week.

The most exciting news of the day is that we got a comment on our blog! A grade 5 class in Austaralia commented and asked us some questions. We commented on their blog today and we are hoping to set up regular communication to learn about one another and our respective countries. Please check out their comment on yesterday’s blog post.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2012 in Assessment

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Diagnostic Assesments & We got a comment on our blog! From Australia!

  1. Miss Anderson

    September 9, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    Dear Miss Little and class,

    In 5A the 5 stands for Grade 5 and the A stands for Miss Anderson (who the teacher is of that grade). We have four grade 5 classes at our school which is why they all need a different name.
    Unfortunately Cody Simpson did not go to our school.
    At the moment we have just entered Spring but it is still pretty cold. It does snow in our State in winter, but not where our school is.
    We eat a variety of different foods in Melbourne (where we are from!). Some of the kids favourite foods are; oysters, chocolate, sushi, icecream, strawberries, chicken, pies, mangoes, pizza, vegemite, popcorn chicken, cherries, french fries, hamburgers, watermelon, Smiths chips, lasagne, KFC, pasta, fish and chips, Subway, Hungry Jacks, lamb roast, sausages on a BBQ, hotdogs, Milo and roast.
    Our class is multi-cultural. Within our class we can speak Turkish, Mandarin, German, Italian and Croatian.

    Do you know what Australian Rules Football is? Do you follow the NFL? Because you just started school when are your next holidays? Do you do anything special at your school? Do you have any clubs at your school? What are some of your favourite foods?

    Thanks for your comment!
    Miss Anderson and 5A
    🙂

     
  2. Clara

    September 14, 2012 at 4:53 am

    Dear Miss Little and class,

    I am one of the girls in Miss Anderson’s class. I am very exited that we are blogging buddies with your class. I am loving your blog it is getting better and better each day. I was thinking maybe you could check out my blog? You just check on Miss Anderson’s blog and then click on Clara’s blog. I hope you will like it.

    Sincerely Clara:)

     
    • erinlittle325001128

      September 14, 2012 at 4:27 pm

      Hi Clara – I’m certain that some of the kids in my class will read and comment on your blog. Today we have the Fall Fair so we don’t have class but I will show them your comment on Monday and show them how to get to your blog. Thanks for commenting.

      Ms. Little

       
      • Clara

        September 20, 2012 at 1:37 am

        Dear Miss Little,

        Thank you for your reply. I am looking forward to reading all your responses. I hope you you all had fun at the Fall Fair.

        From Clara

         
  3. Clara

    October 10, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    Dear Miss Little,
    I just came back to school from my holidays. It is al most Summer here and I am looking forward to Christmas during Summer as you I guess you have have Christmas in Winter. I am also looking forward to my birth day in about 4 months.

    From Clara

     
  4. Clara

    October 18, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    Dear Miss Little,
    I am at school now for two weeks. We have been catching up on school work and so far I am going great. I hope all is going good in Canada.
    Fromm Clara;)

     
    • erinlittle325001128

      October 18, 2012 at 11:47 pm

      Hi Clara, I’m glad you are doing great. Can you send me a link to your blog please? What time is it there now, it’s 7:47 pm here and I’m about to put my girls to bed.

       
  5. Clara

    October 20, 2012 at 3:45 am

    Dear Miss Little,
    My website is clara5aapollo.global2.vic.edu.au/ and at the moment it is Saturday 20/10/12 and the time is 2:45pm.

    From Clara;)

     

Leave a Reply

 
