RSS

Wordy Nerdery – Morphology & Etymology

03 Mar

I borrowed the titles of this post from a blog of the same title about word study using inquiry.

We are in the beginning stages of our inquiry, looking at prefixes, suffixes and base words.  I assign some words and the students try to figure out the base word and then find its etymology (history – which language it originates from).  The groups then find other words that share the same base and create a word matrix which clearly demarcates the different parts of the work.  My hope it to get to the level of word knowledge that we can do inquiry like the Wordy Nerdys do!

 

Here is some of our work so far.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Another way to increase our vocabulary is to read daily.

16176_807635349309289_4318384102162352832_n

and here we are reading!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 3, 2015 in Read to Self, Reading, Word Work

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Wordy Nerdery – Morphology & Etymology

  1. Kathryn

    March 16, 2015 at 4:44 am

    Hi there,

    I teach a class of Y8 & 9 students in Hamilton, New Zealand. Most of my class are 12 & 13 years old, and our school year starts in February each year. Although I’ve run blogs in the past, this is my first year really focusing on it (and it’s the first year my class have had individual blogs).

    I’m really loving the Student Blogging Challenge because it is giving me a chance to explore blogs from all around the world (like yours). I really enjoyed this post because it gave me lots of ideas of the type of things I can include in my class blog. My favourite part is the infographic about the benefits of reading daily. I also loved your post on finding the area of cylinders.

    Perhaps you could have a look at my blog, and see some of the things we are doing in our class.
    http://mrshoggatberkley.blogspot.co.nz/

    Mrs Hogg

     

Leave a Reply

 
